PROCEEDINGS

An extraordinary meeting of the Lancaster City Council was held in the Town Hall, Morecambe, at 6.00 p.m. on Monday, 25 November 2024, when the following Members were present:-

Phil Bradlev

Abi Mills (Mayor) Hamish Mills (Deputy Mayor)

Suhir Abuhajar Joanne Ainscough
Catherine Armistead Mandy Bannon
Matthew Black Phillip Black
Martin Bottoms Louise Belcher

Dave Brookes Keith Budden
Roger Cleet Ruth Colbridge

Brett Cooper Claire Cozler
Maria Deery Gina Dowding
Tom Fish Andrew Gardiner

Martin Gawith Alan Greenwell
Tim Hamilton-Cox Chris Hanna
Prof Chris Harris Paul Hart

Colin Hartley Ross Hunter
Caroline Jackson Peter Jackson
Jack Lenox John Livermore
Sally Maddocks Sarah McGowan

Isabella Metcalf-RienerAndrew OtwayJean ParrMargaret PattisonSue PenneyCatherine Potter

Joyce Pritchard Sam Riches

Grace Russell James Sommerville

Jackson Stubbs

Sandra Thornberry

Paul Stubbins

Sue Tyldesley

Paul Tynan

David Whitaker

John Wild

Nick Wilkinson

Jason Wood

Gerry Blaikie

COUNCIL 25TH NOVEMBER 2024

62 APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillors Roger Dennison, John Hanson, Kate Knight, Paul Newton, Sarah Punshon and Robert Redfern.

63 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were made.

64 APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER

The Mayor called for nominations for Leader of the Cabinet/Leader of Council.

Councillor Dowding nominated Councillor Caroline Jackson. Councillor Pritchard seconded the nomination. There were no further nominations.

The Mayor called for a vote in accordance with the Constitution. With 30 votes for Councillor Caroline Jackson, 20 against and 5 abstentions, the Mayor declared Councillor Caroline Jackson appointed Leader of the Cabinet/Leader of Council until the next Annual Meeting of Council in May 2025.

Resolved:

That Caroline Jackson be appointed Leader of the Cabinet/Leader of Council until the next Annual Meeting of Council in May 2025.

	Mayor

(The meeting finished at 6.05 p.m.)

Any queries regarding these minutes, please contact Debbie Chambers, Senior Manager, Democratic Support & Elections/Deputy Monitoring Officer - email dchambers@lancaster.gov.uk